Upcoming "gig"

Any old topic that's on your mind, so long as it has *something* to do with bluegrass or bass.
Dinsdale
Rising Star

Upcoming "gig"

Post by Dinsdale » Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:35 am

File this under "everything has to start somewhere."

Up til now, my playing has almost exclusively been in jam environments. A couple of times a year, some grouping of jammers has played somewhere for pay or not - at a party, a fundraiser, church service, etc.

A year or so ago I started playing one evening a week with one guy who lives near me. He plays mando/banjo/guitar, and has a nice bass voice. I mainly wanted to develop a limited song list, work on arrangements, and try to "perfect" songs, rather than just hacking away at whatever is brought to a jam with whatever pickers show up.

He brought in a woman who lives nearby who picks mando, but who is a really accomplished cellist, wanting to play BG cello. Then we added another woman fiddler, with a really sweet singing voice. She has been picking up guitar (disgustingly quickly.) We would meet weekly, on whatever day at least 3 of us could make it. Normal issues of folk in their 40s-50s with jobs/families/lives/etc. A few months ago we added one more guy. He plays tenor guitar, various ukes, and harp. Has a nice voice, has excellent rhythm and is pretty good at arrangements and such. Among the reasons I wanted to add him were: 1) he really wanted to join; 2) adding a 5th makes it easier to form a quorum of 3 on a given weeknight; and 3) he is a really nice guy.

We seem to be developing a decent sound, blending fiddle tunes, folk, and oldtime. Tho we consciously avoid our cello/fiddle/bass sounding like a string trio, we have that to drop in when we want. We have been working up a songlist of maybe 20 tunes (plus a hundred or so we could hack away at from our years of jamming together.)

All My Trials
Arkansas Traveller
Blackberry Blossom
Billy Grey
Boxcars
Can't Help But Wonder Where I'm Bound
Cluck Old Hen